• Mon - Fri 09:00 - 17:00


KNOWLEDGE MATURITY MODEL (KMM)™ ASSESSMENTIntroduction (Click here for video)
Sophisticated and established disciplines often develop "maturity models" as they mature, e.g., the Software Engineer Intitute's - Capability Maturity Model (CMM)® for InfoTech.

Such historical models have been essentially assessment (diagnostic) tools. But, would you see a doctor for a diagnosis only, or expect also a prescription?

For KM, many traditional maturity were developed, certainly prematurely, in the 1999 - 2001 era -- some were actually used for rudimentary K Audits. Much progress has been made since then. Isn't it about time KM itself matures?

KM maturity models are evolving from just assessments to sophisticated, modern analytical tools that are both diagnostic and prescriptive. However, consider this. If you have such a diagnostic and prescriptive tool, it's no longer just maturity model; it's potentially, a KM Transformation Solution™

Survey Instructions
This exercise introduces the next generation of diagnostic and prescriptive maturity tools, specifically the KM Institute's KM Transformation Solution™. 

Fundamentally, maturity analysis is not trivial, based merely on a single factor, such as age. In a robust and realistic model, maturity is a function of numerous, often complementary factors. To be elegent, these factors must be true, evidence-based drivers of K-Age Maturity.

Metaphorically, the factors are the multiple, primary threads that comprise the very fabric of K-Age success. See the below key for the six threads that presently comprise this model.

 Consider the rationale for each thread

Six Threads
Human Capital (HC)

Change Management (CM)
Knowledge Management (KM)
Analytics (AN)
Innovation (IN)
Customer Satisfaction (CS)

First, please answer each statement using the following scale:
  1. Strongly Disagree
  2. Disagree
  3. Netiher Agree nor Disagree
  4. Agree
  5. Strongly Agree
There are six levels of survey. For this preliminary state, we will give you 2 levels of the survey. After you have answered all six threads across all two levels, tabulate your results by level. Here's how to score your results.

  • Simply add all the line item scores you have entered (scale of 1 - 5 each) in given level (max total score of 40)
  • Then divide by the number of questions per level. All levels have eight (8) questions; so divide your total score for a level by eight to get your maturity score for that level
  • You can even calculate maturity levels by thread. Calculate the specific thread score next to each similar rows (threads) in a level

You'll no doubt find wide discrepancies between rankings (maturity) for different levels, even for different threads within a level. That's a typical result. Expect it; consider the implications. 

The 6 Levels (Click here for video)

Level 1 - "Initial" Assessment
Level 2 - "Aware" Assessment
Level 3 - "Imperative" Assessment
Level 4 - "Imperative" Assessment
Level 5 - "Investment" Assessment
Level 6 - "Learning Organization" Assessment

Click here to start the survey

Free Joomla templates by L.THEME